Wednesday, 3 August 2016

Public reaction: Unstable politics condition Nepal

Posted by Anup Baral August 3rd, 2016 :
CPN Maoist Centre Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal registered his nomination for the prime ministerial election on Tuesday. Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba proposed Dahal as the candidate for new Prime Minister, while CPN Maoist Centre leader Krishna Bahadur Mahara seconded Deuba. Three Madhesi leaders — Upendra Yadav of Social Forum-Nepal, Sarvendra Nath Shukla of Tarai Madhesh Democratic Party and Laxman Lal Karna of Sadbhawana Party — have supported Dahal’s candidacy along with lawmakers Jayadev Joshi, Chandeshwar Jha and Kumar Khadka. Meanwhile, the CPN-UML has decided not to field any candidate in the prime ministerial election but vote against Dahal. The party of outgoing Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli decided to remain as the main opposition party. After the deadline to choose new Prime Minister through consensus ended on Sunday, President Bidya Devi Bhandari asked the Parliament to hold election to form majoritarian government as per the constitutional provision.

Speaker Onsari Gharti on Monday has called a meeting of the Parliament for 11 am on Wednesday to elect the new Prime Minister. One of the key constituents in the KP Sharma Oli-led coalition, Dahal’s party Maoist Centre had joined forces with the main Nepali Congress to bring down the incumbent government. They moved a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Oli, which forced him to put in papers. Top leaders of Maoist Centre and Nepali Congress have apparently made an agreement that Dahal would serve as the Prime Minister for some months before handing over handing over power to Deuba.

Guide of the month: January 2018

Traveling gives us the opportunity to disconnect from our regular life. You get to forget your problems/issues for a few weeks, it can also help you figure things out that you would not have understood without the distance traveling can give you. We all have crazy schedules, work and a family to take care of, going away alone or with some friends can give you distance and perhaps even make you realize how important these people are for you. Like the saying says: we never know what we have until we lose it.

Another great benefit is the relaxation you get to do. It’s nice to live life to its fullest and enjoy a stress free time with yourself. Going on vacation lets us recharge our “batteries” by disconnecting us from our regular life. When we come back we feel invigorated and we are happy to be back in our day to day routine. It’s a very good stress remover that has a lot more to give than most people are willing to accept.

Traveling increases our knowledge and widens our perspective. To view new customs, different ways of living is fantastic for the mind. It gives us a new perspective about life and especially our life, it can help us change some of our habits or even create new ones. When I travel I usually make it a point to try new food, some cultures don’t have fries in their diet and they are all skinny, others use spices to give taste and not oils or fats. Discovering different values and ways to get by in life is really interesting. You also need to visit exotic new places and discover what this wonderful world has to offer.